<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?><!-- generator="wordpress/2.3.3" -->
<rss version="2.0"
	xmlns:content="http://purl.org/rss/1.0/modules/content/"
	xmlns:dc="http://purl.org/dc/elements/1.1/"
	>
<channel>
	<title>Comments on: Are You Being Scammed?</title>
	<link>http://www.quickprinting.com/interactive/2008/08/26/are-you-being-scammed/</link>
	<description>Quick printing industry insights by Quick Printing magazine\'s Bob Hall.</description>
	<pubDate>Sun, 14 Mar 2010 00:17:37 +0000</pubDate>
	<generator>http://wordpress.org/?v=2.3.3</generator>
		<item>
		<title>By: James Jepsen</title>
		<link>http://www.quickprinting.com/interactive/2008/08/26/are-you-being-scammed/#comment-5361</link>
		<dc:creator>James Jepsen</dc:creator>
		<pubDate>Mon, 02 Feb 2009 19:48:57 +0000</pubDate>
		<guid>http://www.quickprinting.com/interactive/2008/08/26/are-you-being-scammed/#comment-5361</guid>
		<description>We've received the same 80,000 brochures to 'save the children' in some nigerian slum. The first time we received it ( 2 years ago) , we designed and sent proofs. The first  tip off was that the proofs had placeholder text but they were approved anyway. Then they sent several credit card numbers, requesting $2000 to be placed on each card. When I checked the card numbers were newly opened and/or stolen. 

We were only out some time, but of course time is money. I've since received several variants on a regular basis. Not surprisingly the 'from' information changes every time but it always comes from a throwaway account (yahoo, gmail), always has some religious attempt (God bless you for your help), and is always some rediculous number with some oddball specs (80,000 flyers, yellow and black but they will spec CMYK with 80# gloss book and an aqueous coating, and give dimensions in metric and english units).

Don't fall for it...</description>
		<content:encoded><![CDATA[<p>We&#8217;ve received the same 80,000 brochures to &#8217;save the children&#8217; in some nigerian slum. The first time we received it ( 2 years ago) , we designed and sent proofs. The first  tip off was that the proofs had placeholder text but they were approved anyway. Then they sent several credit card numbers, requesting $2000 to be placed on each card. When I checked the card numbers were newly opened and/or stolen. </p>
<p>We were only out some time, but of course time is money. I&#8217;ve since received several variants on a regular basis. Not surprisingly the &#8216;from&#8217; information changes every time but it always comes from a throwaway account (yahoo, gmail), always has some religious attempt (God bless you for your help), and is always some rediculous number with some oddball specs (80,000 flyers, yellow and black but they will spec CMYK with 80# gloss book and an aqueous coating, and give dimensions in metric and english units).</p>
<p>Don&#8217;t fall for it&#8230;</p>
]]></content:encoded>
	</item>
	<item>
		<title>By: Scotty Suggs</title>
		<link>http://www.quickprinting.com/interactive/2008/08/26/are-you-being-scammed/#comment-5335</link>
		<dc:creator>Scotty Suggs</dc:creator>
		<pubDate>Sat, 17 Jan 2009 19:06:24 +0000</pubDate>
		<guid>http://www.quickprinting.com/interactive/2008/08/26/are-you-being-scammed/#comment-5335</guid>
		<description>Bob, We receive offers for prints jobs at least4-5 times a week. Most are seeking religious printing wanting you to give the exact cost then they will furnish you with a credit card. The first one of these I though WOW, however after contacting the individual and running 2-3 different cards from the same person I smell a rat. We still get these the most recent from Nigera wanting a 150 Bibles. Why they are using relgious printing as the bases for their printing request remains a mystery to me. Lesson learned "If it sounds too good to be true it usually is".</description>
		<content:encoded><![CDATA[<p>Bob, We receive offers for prints jobs at least4-5 times a week. Most are seeking religious printing wanting you to give the exact cost then they will furnish you with a credit card. The first one of these I though WOW, however after contacting the individual and running 2-3 different cards from the same person I smell a rat. We still get these the most recent from Nigera wanting a 150 Bibles. Why they are using relgious printing as the bases for their printing request remains a mystery to me. Lesson learned &#8220;If it sounds too good to be true it usually is&#8221;.</p>
]]></content:encoded>
	</item>
	<item>
		<title>By: Dave K</title>
		<link>http://www.quickprinting.com/interactive/2008/08/26/are-you-being-scammed/#comment-5330</link>
		<dc:creator>Dave K</dc:creator>
		<pubDate>Wed, 14 Jan 2009 13:14:31 +0000</pubDate>
		<guid>http://www.quickprinting.com/interactive/2008/08/26/are-you-being-scammed/#comment-5330</guid>
		<description>A colleague recently called for my thoughts on this scam. He was asked to print 100,000+ flyers &#38; ship to some 3rd world location. He was actually given a credit card number. Then he was told that he had to ship using a specified shipper &#38; the shipper required CASH payment in advance (that was the tipoff). I told him to check with the bank or credit card company &#38; the card number was stolen. After the materials were shipped, he would have learned that he was out for both the shipping cost ($3000.00 cash) plus the cost of printing. Regards,</description>
		<content:encoded><![CDATA[<p>A colleague recently called for my thoughts on this scam. He was asked to print 100,000+ flyers &amp; ship to some 3rd world location. He was actually given a credit card number. Then he was told that he had to ship using a specified shipper &amp; the shipper required CASH payment in advance (that was the tipoff). I told him to check with the bank or credit card company &amp; the card number was stolen. After the materials were shipped, he would have learned that he was out for both the shipping cost ($3000.00 cash) plus the cost of printing. Regards,</p>
]]></content:encoded>
	</item>
	<item>
		<title>By: Shawn</title>
		<link>http://www.quickprinting.com/interactive/2008/08/26/are-you-being-scammed/#comment-4920</link>
		<dc:creator>Shawn</dc:creator>
		<pubDate>Tue, 07 Oct 2008 20:27:52 +0000</pubDate>
		<guid>http://www.quickprinting.com/interactive/2008/08/26/are-you-being-scammed/#comment-4920</guid>
		<description>Great article. Few comments and similar experiences:

We get emails like this often like print 80000 flyers on astrobright paper with just few letter in black ink. First time I got this I got excited because of the legitimity of the email. But then on serious thinking and more digging on the email - found it to be a scam. 

So here is one day one of our trade customers calls me and asks me for a quote to do the same job. i.e. 80000 flyers on astrobright - I picked up the phone and called her and she said about the same email. I explained to her about the scam.
So it is true that anybody will fall into the trap, but make sure to collect payment and if you get a cashier's check - call the bank and verify the check before you lift a finger on the job. Be aware there are lots of scams out there.

Thanks Shawn
printpapa.com</description>
		<content:encoded><![CDATA[<p>Great article. Few comments and similar experiences:</p>
<p>We get emails like this often like print 80000 flyers on astrobright paper with just few letter in black ink. First time I got this I got excited because of the legitimity of the email. But then on serious thinking and more digging on the email - found it to be a scam. </p>
<p>So here is one day one of our trade customers calls me and asks me for a quote to do the same job. i.e. 80000 flyers on astrobright - I picked up the phone and called her and she said about the same email. I explained to her about the scam.<br />
So it is true that anybody will fall into the trap, but make sure to collect payment and if you get a cashier&#8217;s check - call the bank and verify the check before you lift a finger on the job. Be aware there are lots of scams out there.</p>
<p>Thanks Shawn<br />
printpapa.com</p>
]]></content:encoded>
	</item>
	<item>
		<title>By: Pete Kramer</title>
		<link>http://www.quickprinting.com/interactive/2008/08/26/are-you-being-scammed/#comment-4636</link>
		<dc:creator>Pete Kramer</dc:creator>
		<pubDate>Wed, 17 Sep 2008 11:13:38 +0000</pubDate>
		<guid>http://www.quickprinting.com/interactive/2008/08/26/are-you-being-scammed/#comment-4636</guid>
		<description>Bob:  Not really a comment, just hoping you can help.  In the September issue, Digital Color article, Color Copy News is mentioned.  I would like to contact them, subscribe, but can't find any information either in the issue or if I try various web addresses.  It would be greatly appreciated if you can send me a web or email address for them.  Thank you very much.  Pete</description>
		<content:encoded><![CDATA[<p>Bob:  Not really a comment, just hoping you can help.  In the September issue, Digital Color article, Color Copy News is mentioned.  I would like to contact them, subscribe, but can&#8217;t find any information either in the issue or if I try various web addresses.  It would be greatly appreciated if you can send me a web or email address for them.  Thank you very much.  Pete</p>
]]></content:encoded>
	</item>
</channel>
</rss>
